Creativity


Design Technology    DT Gallery (Click on the Gallery to view student work)

Design Technology at MES Cairo

The Design Technology department at MES Cairo gives our students the opportunity study  graphics, resistant materials and information technology, working through both practical and theoretical processes. Workshop based courses introduce working with tools and a range of materials, while the design studio allows access to Desk Top Publishing and 3D Cad software. Courses provide our students with the vital skills needed in professions such as architecture, engineering and product design. Classes cross the American and British sections of Secondary school. All Grade and Year Seven and Eight students take Design Technology classes. British Section students are offered the option of IGCSE Design Technology in Years Nine and specialising in resistant materials. This year has seen the first cohort of AS Design Technology complete their CIE qualification, MES being one of the only schools in Cairo to offer such a course. We’re looking forward to starting the A2 level and there has also been an increased uptake of AS level in year eleven.

We celebrate the creative talents of our students at our annual whole school Art and Design Technology Exhibition; to open the event in 2014, the renowned Egyptian artist Nazli Madkour was in attendance to inaugurate our Gallery and offer some inspirational words to our young designers. Products from all grade and year groups were on display, showing the outstanding outcomes that our students produce, but also the process by which they get there. A selection of these outcomes and products can be viewed in the gallery link.

In addition to the curriculum the department offers all students across the school the chance to extend their DT skills through the After School Activities (ASA) programme. The DT team were also intrinsic to the production of the large scale pieces in this year’s whole school production of Wicked. The Design Technology department continues to go from strength to strength, this year we welcome Mr. Ben Higgs to the team and are looking forward to another successful academic year.

Mr. Doug Walker – Head of Design Technology
 

Upcoming Events

Sunday 28th October 2018 to Thursday 1st November 2018
WINTER UNIFORM CHANGEOVER PERIOD

Tuesday 30th October 2018
Y/G 7-8 Halloween Social – 6.00-8.00pm

Tuesday 30th October 2018
DP12 to AUC – 8.30am-2.00pm

Wednesday 31st October 2018
Y8 Plan for Grad Event

Thursday 1st November 2018
Senior Dinner

Thursday 1st November 2018 to Saturday 3 November 2018
Secondary Pioneers Leadership Retreat

Sunday 4th November 2018 to Thursday 8th November 2018
FS1 Siblings Assessments

Sunday 4th November 2018 to Thursday 8th November 2018
Y4 CATS

Friday 9th November 2018 to Saturday 10th November 2018
IA Bronze Practice

Sunday 11th November 2018
Remembrance Day Event

Sunday 11th November 2018 to Thursday 15th November 2018
Y2 CATS

Sunday 11th November 2018 to Thursday 15th November 2018
MUN Trip to Suldzol

Tuesday 13th November 2018
Y8 Industry Day

Tuesday 13th November 2018
G8-9 MAP Parent Sessions

Thursday 15th November 2018
G/Y/DP11-12 Art Trip

Thursday 15th November 2018 to Saturday 17th November 2018
BSME U15 Games in Abu Dhabi

Sunday 18th November 2018 to Wednesday 21st November 2018
Y8 Plan for Grad Consultations

Sunday 18th November 2018
IBDP Job-Alike Event – 3.00-5.00pm

Monday 19th November 2018
Y6 Production

Tuesday 20th November 2018
SCHOOL CLOSED - Prophet Mohamed’s Birthday

Thursday 22nd November 2018
SCHOOL CLOSED – American Thanksgiving

Monday 25th November 2018
Y8 IGCSE Options Exhibition - 2.00-4.15pm

Monday 25th November 2018 to Thursday 6th December 2018
FS1 Assessments (non-siblings)

Monday 25th November 2018 to Thursday 6th December 2018
Primary Class Photos

Tuesday 26th November 2018
Peri Showcase

Wednesday 27th November 2018
IBDP Parent Information Session - 3.00-4.30pm

Thursday 28th November 2018
G7 Parents’ MAP Session – 3.00-4.00pm