Drama


All students in Key Stage Three (British Section) and Middle School (American Section) at MES Cairo study Drama as a discrete subject. The two year course covers a wide range of Drama skills including physical theatre, script-writing, characterisation and explorative strategies. The course prepares interested students with the knowledge-base necessary for IGCSE Drama or the American High School Theatre courses. It also establishes the ability to work well with others, to view the world as others see it and develops self-confidence and presentation skills.
In the British Section students can move on to IGCSE Drama, a two-year course which further develops analytical skills and places a large emphasis on performance of both published scripts and devised work. Success at this level can then be taken on to AS Level Drama and Theatre Studies.
The American Section offers three levels of Theatre class with a definite focus on performance skills in the many and varied forms of Theatre. Students become aware of the history and development of the art-form and learn how theatre companies produce shows.
Many students in Drama or Theatre classes use their classroom experience to perform in the annual productions, including the hugely successful “Les Miserables” in 2013.
 

Upcoming Events

Monday 8th October 2018 to Thursday 18th October
G7-9 MAP Testing

Wednesday 10th October 2018 to Saturday 13th October 2018
IBDP CAS Trip

Wednesday 10th October 2018
G7/G8 Art Trip

Thursday 11th October 2018
Y3 Concert

Saturday 13th October 2018
NHS/NJHS Islamic Cairo Teacher Tour

Sunday 14th October 2018
PAP – Google/Digital Citizenship Info Session – 1.45-3.00pm

Tuesday 16th October 2018
Primary Student Progress Meetings (Parents)

Tuesday 16th October 2018
DP12 EE Workshop (P1-3)

Wednesday 17th October 2018
Y7 Islamic Cairo Trip (1 of 2)

Wednesday 17th October 2018 to Tuesday 23rd October 2018
IA Silver/Gold Adventurous Journey to Crans Montana

Thursday 18th October 2018
Y7 Islamic Cairo Trip (2 of 2)

Friday 19th October 2018 to Saturday 27th October 2018
SCHOOL CLOSED – Mid Term Break

Sunday 28th October 2018 to Thursday 1st November 2018
WINTER UNIFORM CHANGEOVER PERIOD

Tuesday 30th October 2018
Y/G 7-8 Halloween Social – 6.00-8.00pm

Tuesday 30th October 2018
DP12 to AUC – 8.30am-2.00pm

Wednesday 31st October 2018
Y8 Plan for Grad Event
 



 

 



 








 

  
 

 

 

‘Les Miserables’