Year Seven ToTAL English

 


 
 

In Year 7 English classes, students have been studying Antigone by Sophocles, as part of their Year 7 TOTAL Citizenship Unit.

As a final piece of work, I asked students to create a game that linked to the theme of Citizenship. Photos are some of the games they made.

Students were able to work individually, paired or in groups. They were told they should use colour, the game should be fun and with clear rules.

The students worked independently or collaboratively, as they chose. I was so impressed with the quality of their work. Differentiation occurred naturally and all students completed the task successfully. One pair decided to make a computer game using elements of Minecraft.

To make their games feel ‘authentic’ I told the students that I would share the best four games with a Year 5 class (via SC) to play during a PSHE lesson. This was highly motivating for the students and is reflected in the quality of what they made. The games would then be voted by the students as to first, second and third place- winning merits.

The students briefly shared their games with each other and then had time to play. What really impressed me was the conversation afterwards. Students made such incredibly mature links and connections on their observations. One student commented that they liked a game they played, but there was no reward for being a ‘good’ citizen. The class then relayed that is just like real life. You don’t always get a reward for being good or doing the right thing. I never expected such philosophical observations as a result of the game play.

The students needed to really think about the creation of their games and the complexity of Citizenship was reflected in their play. I am really proud of what they achieved!



 

 

 




 

 

Upcoming Events

Tuesday 29th January
Y5 Concert Technical Rehearsal – 9.30am

Wednesday 30th January
Y5 Concert Dress Rehearsal – 9.30am

Thursday 31st January
Y9 Target Setting Day 

 

Friday 1st to Monday 4th February
Y5 Nile Cruise Trip 1
 

Sunday 3rd February
Term 2 ASAs Begin
 

Sunday 3rd to Thursday 7th February
 IEP Mid-Year Reviews
 

Sunday 3rd to Monday 11th February
DP11 Mid-Year Assessments

 

Monday 4th to Thursday 7th February
 Y8 Global Perspectives Trip

 

Wednesday 6th February

 Y9-10 IG DT Fab Lab Visit

 

Friday 8th to Saturday 9th February

IA Practice Exhibition

 

Friday 8th to Monday 11th February

Y5 Nile Cruise Trip 2

 

Sunday 10th February

Peri Showcase – 1.30pm

Wednesday 13th February

Y/G 7-8 Spring Social, Y8 Global Perspectives Enterprise Event

 

Thursday 14th February

Y10-12/DP12 Term 2 Reports Issued

 

Sunday 17th February

Y7-9 Focus Week, Y10-12/DP12 Student Progress Mtgs (Parents)

 

Sunday 17th February

FS2 Production Technical Rehearsal

 

Monday 18th February

Y1/Y2 Sports Days, FS2 Production Dress Rehearsal

 

Tuesday 19th February

Y3/Y4 Sports Days

 

Wednesday 20th February

Y5/Y6 Sports Days, FS2 Production -12.30pm

 

Thursday 21st February

Graduation Gown Fitting

 

Sunday 24th to Thursday 28th February

G7-8 Week Without Walls  

 

Monday 25th February

All US Section Course Selections Due

 

Wednesday 27th to Sunday 3rd March

Senior Trip

 

Thursday 28th February

FS2/FS1 Sports Days

 

Thursday 28th to Tuesday 5th March

IA Expedition to Cyprus