Athletics

MES Cairo Athletic Programme


Primary Athletics

As a complement to physical education, children in Key Stage Two have the chance to become a member of Team Cougar. Team Cougar is our sports team that plays fixtures against other schools in the local area. The sports in which Team Cougar compete in are Football, Basketball, Netball, Swimming and Athletics. Children who have the privilege to compete for Team Cougar show many characteristics such as being talented, hardworking, a good sport, well-behaved and a team player.

The Primary physical education department also competes in a prestigious competition, the British Schools in the Middle East Games. This takes place annually and a selection of children from Team Cougar travel to the Games to compete against other schools in the Middle East. The children compete for MES Cairo in their selected sports and support the team in the other sports. This is an extraordinary opportunity for the children to experience high level competition and superb team spirit.

Secondary Athletics


Participation on an athletic team can serve as a crucial component for developing well-rounded young people who exemplify the MES Cairo graduate profile. In our continuing effort to promote a healthy lifestyle and develop leadership skills, integrity and tenacity in our students, MES Cairo Cougars compete in two leagues with possible involvement in several international friendly tournaments. The International Schools Activities Conference (ISAC) and the Cairo International Schools Sports Association (CISSA) provide an opportunity to compete in a range of international and local competitions.

Student athletes at MES Cairo are held to extremely high standards, both in the sporting arena as well as academically. Each participant signs an athletic code of honour at the beginning of the season and is held tightly to the behavioural, attendance and academic standards set for them.


 Athletic teams are divided into three age levels; Middle School, Junior Varsity and Varsity. Each sport functions as a cohesive programme, offering a progression of skills, tactics and systems of play through the levels. The sports offered are volleyball, football (soccer), basketball, track and field, swimming and rugby.

Upcoming Events

Sunday 28th October 2018 to Thursday 1st November 2018
WINTER UNIFORM CHANGEOVER PERIOD

Tuesday 30th October 2018
Y/G 7-8 Halloween Social – 6.00-8.00pm

Tuesday 30th October 2018
DP12 to AUC – 8.30am-2.00pm

Wednesday 31st October 2018
Y8 Plan for Grad Event

Thursday 1st November 2018
Senior Dinner

Thursday 1st November 2018 to Saturday 3 November 2018
Secondary Pioneers Leadership Retreat

Sunday 4th November 2018 to Thursday 8th November 2018
FS1 Siblings Assessments

Sunday 4th November 2018 to Thursday 8th November 2018
Y4 CATS

Friday 9th November 2018 to Saturday 10th November 2018
IA Bronze Practice

Sunday 11th November 2018
Remembrance Day Event

Sunday 11th November 2018 to Thursday 15th November 2018
Y2 CATS

Sunday 11th November 2018 to Thursday 15th November 2018
MUN Trip to Suldzol

Tuesday 13th November 2018
Y8 Industry Day

Tuesday 13th November 2018
G8-9 MAP Parent Sessions

Thursday 15th November 2018
G/Y/DP11-12 Art Trip

Thursday 15th November 2018 to Saturday 17th November 2018
BSME U15 Games in Abu Dhabi

Sunday 18th November 2018 to Wednesday 21st November 2018
Y8 Plan for Grad Consultations

Sunday 18th November 2018
IBDP Job-Alike Event – 3.00-5.00pm

Monday 19th November 2018
Y6 Production

Tuesday 20th November 2018
SCHOOL CLOSED - Prophet Mohamed’s Birthday

Thursday 22nd November 2018
SCHOOL CLOSED – American Thanksgiving

Monday 25th November 2018
Y8 IGCSE Options Exhibition - 2.00-4.15pm

Monday 25th November 2018 to Thursday 6th December 2018
FS1 Assessments (non-siblings)

Monday 25th November 2018 to Thursday 6th December 2018
Primary Class Photos

Tuesday 26th November 2018
Peri Showcase

Wednesday 27th November 2018
IBDP Parent Information Session - 3.00-4.30pm

Thursday 28th November 2018
G7 Parents’ MAP Session – 3.00-4.00pm